Scholarship Program

ASHRAE Illinois Chapter Scholarship Program

Congratulations 2020 Scholarship Winners

Ezgi Takmaz – Final year of Master degree at University of Illinois Chicago (UIC)

Zahra Khuwaja – Junior at Illinois Institute of Technology

Alouki Shah – Senior at Illinois Institute of Technology


Brandon Apostal – Freshman at Bradley University


2021 applications WILL BE ACCEPTED THROUGH JANUARY 31, 2021.

Application Deadline: January 31, 2021

Download ASHRAE Illinois Scholarship Application (PDF Version)

ASHRAE National Scholarship Program

ASHRAE National also offer many scholarship and fellowship opportunities!

For more information about ASHRAE National Scholarship, Click Here

ASHRAE Student Chapters

Click Here to go to Illinois Institute of Technology Student Chapter

Click Here to go to University of Illinois at Chicago Student Chapter


Past Winners

2019 Scholarship Winners — Esther Rebecca Nazziwa (IIT), Erica Acton (IIT), Hibatullah Ismail (UIC), and Vinit Rajesh Gala (UIC).

2018 Scholarship Winners — Sean Killarney (IIT) $1,500, Hardik Satish Miyani (UIC) $1,500, Lisa White (UIC) $1,500, Zaki Mafraji (UIC) $750, and Esther Rebecca Nazziwa (IIT) $750

2017 Scholarship Winners — Hibatullah Ismail (UIC) $3000, Huize Li (UI-Urbana) $3000, Muhammad Hashim (UIC) $1500, and Jingwei Zhu (UI-Urbana) $1500

2016 Scholarship Winners — Kevin Summers (UIC) $3000, Muhammad Hashim (UIC) $3000, Ian Bonadeo (UIC) $1500, and Mohammed Badruddin Saad (Bradley University) $1500

2015 Scholarship Winners — Kelly Costello (UIC) $3000, Kevin Summers (UIC) $3000, Panos Bakos (UIC) $1500, Ian Bonadeo (UIC) $1500, and Amir Salarifard (UIC) $1500

2014 Scholarship Winners — Kelly Costello (UIC) $3000, Amir Salarifard (UIC) $3000, Ben Campbell (UIC) $1500 and Matt Kaleta (UIC) $1500

2013 Scholarship Winners — James Pena (UIC) $3000, Hanfei Tuo (UIUC) $3000, Alvaro Gonzalez (IIT) $1500 Maher Maymoun (UIC) $1500

2012 Scholarship Winners — Shiv Patel (Bradley) $3000, Jingyu Lee (IIT) $3000, Augusto Zimmerman (UIUC) $1500, Bryant Morris (Bradley) $1500

2011 Scholarship Winners — Jingyu Lee (IIT) $3000, Grace Junge (UIC) $1500, Daniel Maier (IIT) $1500, Jing He (UIUC) $1500, Marina Horchin (IIT) $1500

2010 Scholarship Winners — Stephanie Iwanski (UIC) $3000, Tyler Brown (UIUC) $2000, Kelsey Dolan ($2000), Tyler Throop (UIUC) $2000

2009 Scholarship Winners — Lynette Hromada (Calvin College) $1500, Wendy Negron (Elgin CC) $1500, Tim Johnson (UIC) $1000, Jaime Kelleher (U of Florida) $1000, Ryan Ollie (U of Michigan) $1000

This web site is maintained by the Illinois ASHRAE Chapter. It does not represent official positions of the Society nor reflect Society policy. ASHRAE chapters may not act for the Society and the information presented here has not had Society review. To learn more about ASHRAE activities on an international level, contact the ASHRAE home page at