2013 Technology Award Winners

Congratuations to these 15 winning projects, their design engineers and owners that were chosen to receive the Illinois Chapter ASHRAE's Excellence in Engineering Awards in 2013.

(See more photos.)

Ron Russell   Tom Phoenix Talk

(Click on individual links below to view project reports.) 

20 N MichiganTom Kelleher, AMS
Benny Skelton, Cyclone Energy Group
20 N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago 





Elara 1

Don McLauchlan & Matthew Swanson
Elara Engineering
29 N. Wacker Drive, Chicago 





Grumman 1Dan Doyle, Grumman/Butkus Associates
Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center, Chiller Replacements 




Chase Tower AwardDaniel F. Cohen, Environmental Systems Design
Chase Tower Chiller Plant Upgrade, Chicago 






Digital Realty, ESDBrett Griffin, Environmental Systems Design
Digital Realty Datacampus 






JT Katrakis AwardJohn D. Villani, Grumman/Butkus Asssociates
University of Chicago, Duchossis Center for Advanced Medicine 



Harmony HouseSachin Anand, dbHMS
Harmony House for Cats 






Elara 2Steve Maze, Matthew Swanson & Brian Malone 
Elara Engineering 
Olivet Nazarene University, Student Life & Recreation Center 



Radio Flyer HQsSachin Anand, dbHMS
Radio Flyer Corporate Headquarters and Product Development Laboratory 





Roche DiagnosticsLuke Leung, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
Roche Diagnostics Training & Development Center, Indianapolis, IN 






Romeoville High School AwardSudesh Saraf, Wight & Company 
Romeoville High School, Boiler Plant Replacement 





Rosa Parks Apts AwardJohn Katrakis, J.T. Katrakis & Associates
Rosa Parks Apartments 






Sarah Goode STEM Academy AwardSachin Anand, dbHMS
Sarah E. Goode STEM Academy 





Skokie Hospital Patient Tower AwardJean O’Brien Gibbons, Grumman/Butkus Associates
North Shore University Health System
Skokie Hospital Patient Tower Renovation 



Walgreens Net Zero AwardSteve Sovak, WMA Consulting Engineers, Ltd.
Rob Olden, GI Energy
Benjamin Skelton, Cyclone Energy Group
Charlie Saville, WMA Consulting Engineers, Ltd.
Walgreens Net Zero Store



Watch for the invitation and submittal form to enter your design ideas and project for next year's competition, to be announced in August/September of 2014. Each year the awards are presented at the Illinois Chapter's December meeting.

Click here for a list and links to 2012 (Last Year's) Technology Award Winners.

Chapter Tech Award Winners 2013

This web site is maintained by the Illinois ASHRAE Chapter. It does not represent official positions of the Society nor reflect Society policy. ASHRAE chapters may not act for the Society and the information presented here has not had Society review. To learn more about ASHRAE activities on an international level, contact the ASHRAE home page at http://www.ashrae.org.