2014 Technology Award Winners

Congratuations to these 16 winning projects, their design engineers and owners that were chosen to receive the Illinois Chapter ASHRAE's Excellence in Engineering Awards in 2014.

(See more photos.)

Ron Russell   Awards Presentation

(Click on individual links below to view project descriptions.) 

William Jones CollegeMichael Belczak & Frank Moccio, Primera Engineering
William Jones College Preparatory Academy 





Loyola Health Science Campus

Don McLauchlan, Steve Maze, Adam Sanders & Mark Rockwood, Elara Engineering
Loyola University – Health Science Campus
Chilled Water Independence Project 




Advocate Boiler Burner ReplacementDan Doyle & Dennis LaBlanc, Grumman/Butkus Associates
Advocate Health Care, Boiler Burner Replacements 




Johnson Center for ScienceMichael Belczak & Frank Moccio, Primera Engineering
Nancy & B. Timothy Johnson Center for Science & Community Life–North Park University




Motorola MobilityDaniel Cohen & Kurt Karnatz, Environmental Systems Design
Motorola Mobility 







Hyatt – Princeton, NJJonathon Gehrt & Alex Butkus, Grumman/Butkus Asssociates
Hyatt Regency, Princeton, New Jersey 



Loyola InstituteDon McLauchlan, Steve Maze, Brian Malone, Dustin Langille, Adam Sanders & Chris Frauens, Elara Engineering
Institute of Environmental Sustainability, Loyola University 




Hyatt – AtlantaJonathon Gehrt & Alex Butkus, Grumman/Butkus Asssociates 
Hyatt Regency, Atlanta, Georgia





St. Joseph Med CenterMatt Butkus, Grumman/Butkus Asssociates
Presence St. Joseph Medical Center, Joliet, Illinois 







Boathouse at Clark ParkAnna Morton, dbHMS
WMS Boathouse at Clark Park 







Good Samaritan HospitalJohn Tsingas, Grumman/Butkus Asssociates 
Advocate Good Samaritan Hospital, Downers Grove, Illinois 





Univ of IL Vet Medicine ComplexMario Zotta & Kitty Knauz, Environmental Systems Design
University of Illinois – Urbana-Champaign Veterinary Medicine Complex






San Bernardino Justice CenterLuke Leung, Skidmore Owings & Merrill
San Bernardino Justice Center, San Bernardino, California 




Hynes SchoolSudesh Saraf, Wight & Company
Hynes Elementary School



Harvest CommonsDavid Siegle, dbHMS
Harvest Commons





Christ Medical Center

Mike Jelaca & James Shults, Grumman/Butkus Asssociates
Advocate Christ Medical Center Outpatient Pavilion





Watch for the invitation and submittal form to enter your design ideas and project for next year's competition, to be announced in August/September of 2015. Each year the awards are presented at the Illinois Chapter's December meeting.

Click here for a list and links to 2013 (Last Year's) Technology Award Winners.


Chapter Tech Award Winners 2014

This web site is maintained by the Illinois ASHRAE Chapter. It does not represent official positions of the Society nor reflect Society policy. ASHRAE chapters may not act for the Society and the information presented here has not had Society review. To learn more about ASHRAE activities on an international level, contact the ASHRAE home page at http://www.ashrae.org.